About Tanzania Police Force


The Tanzania Police Force is a law enforcement organ and a Public Institution which apply both military and civilian tO Introduction processes and procedures in its day to day operations. It is a national entity which operates throghout the United %pubic Tanzania. Its command, control and administration is vested in the Inspector General of Police (GPI. At Police Headquarie, the IGP is assisted by Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIGP) and eight Commissioners. At Dar es Salaam Speciai zone the IGP is assisted by a Commissioner of Police who is responsible for policing in Dar es Salaaam which comprise of tree’ Police regions namely; Ilala, Kinondoni and Temeke. In order to ensure efficient and effective administration and command of the force, TPF has six supporting units at tle, headquarters which are: Internal Monitoring and Evaluation; Internal Audit; TPF Corporation Sole: Information Communication Technology OCT): Procurement Management and Anti Drugs Unit. There are also 19 specialized cipe-a-. i units namely: Traffic Police, Police Airports, Police Marine. Police Air-wing, Field Force Unit. Police Medical, Police Dog & Horse, Police Band, Railways Police, TAZARA, Stock Theft Prevention, Police Vehicles Maintenance, Dar es Salaam Pofice Academy. Moshi Police Training School, Zanzibar Police Training College, Kidatu Police Staff College, Marine Police Co liege – Mwanza, Police Main Stores and Police Building Unit. At regional level, the IGP is assisted by Regional Police Commanders (RPCs) who are assisted by Officers Commanding Districts (OCDs) and Officers Commanding Stations (OC-Stations). Up to the end of the year 2014, TPF had 33 Region4 Commands, 1 79 District Commands, 366 Police Stations and 502 Police Posts.
Towards the end of 2013, TPF continued to undertake reforms in its administrative and command structures whereb■ new office of Deputy Inspector General of Police was established. Commissions at the headquarters were reorgancea and increased from five to eight. These commissions are: Zanzibar, Administration and Personnel; Finance and Logs: :s Operations and Training; Criminal Investigation; Community Policing, Forensic Bureau and Criminal Intelligence. On 31 December, 2013 Saidi Ally Mwema who assumed the office of Inspector General of Police on 7 March. 2006 retired from service and his Excellency Dr. Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, the President of the United Republic of Tanzania appointed Ernest Jumbe Mangu to assume the office of the Inspector General of Police and Abdulrahman 0. J. Kaniki to assume the office of Deputy Inspector General of Police.

The President of tf7e United Republic of Tanzania, H. E Dr Jakaya Mrisho Kkwete Ernest J. Mangu(1′ left) and DlGP Abdulrahman 0 (2j lett) in a group 0)0-k:with retired 103 S-34 All at State mwerna r House (7,d right), new /GP Kanik (1′ t) after a ring c t)tItl grounds, Dar es Salaam,